Review of Dr. Oz’s 3 Day Detox Cleanse

Last week, I was watching Dr. Oz and his 3 day detox cleanse totally caught my attention. I had been eating complete crap and felt pretty much disgusting. Low energy, very bloated and simply didn’t feel good about myself. I thought that it was a great way to focus and get my act together to reboot my healthy lifestyle. So I went to Trader Joes (& another store, because they were out of a couple of things) on Tuesday March 12th and began on Wednesday March 13th.

Image

Each day, you drink 4 smoothies (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack). The snack is which ever out of the three ‘meals’ is your favorite. Also upon waking each day, a nice wake-up tea is in order (green tea & lemon). So if you are switching from coffee, this is the caffeine alternative which is in fact kinder to your body.

You can find a breakdown of exactly what is in each smoothie, including exact measurements right here from DrOz.com. [The cleanse calls for a nighttime bath, but frankly my bathtub is not in acceptable condition for me to sit in so I didn’t do that.]

DAY 1

For me, this was the toughest day. The biggest thing about Day 1 is that I felt so hungry. I was used to eating tons of food so I knew my body was just adjusting. I also did not prepare the smoothies up to par. What I mean by this is- I didn’t use any frozen fruit and also didn’t blend them well enough (especially the lunch smoothie which contains lots of celery, kale and cucumber – blehhh).

Image

But I had to just suck it down, even though it took me an hour. I wasn’t home so I couldn’t reblend it or even refrigerate it so it definitely was nasty. Day 1 was definitely a learning day, so if you are reading this before trying the cleanse – make sure most of the fruit you use is frozen (because you don’t add ice) and also blend them realllllly well. ESPECIALLY the vegetable-y lunch drink.

DAY 2

Day 2 was a huge improvement just because the smoothies tasted better to me. I blended them better and used frozen raspberries/blueberries/pineapple which made a HUGE difference. I actually enjoyed the morning drink immensely! I had to bring two smoothies with me to work so I put them in thermals and also in the fridge. This is key – seriously, drink these bad boys cold otherwise ya might gag. I learned that from the first day.

And as for the dinner drink, it was actually quite good…except for the cayenne pepper. If you know me, you know I love spicy. Turns out, I do not enjoy it in my ‘refreshing’ smoothies. I didn’t like the combination of a cold, fruity drink with the cayenne pow in it. It really turned me off of the dinner drink but without the spice, I would have liked it. I will probably try that same drink sans cayenne sometime soon.

So on Day 2 I was definitely feeling better and wasn’t as hungry as the first day.

DAY 3

I felt great when I woke up and was excited for the morning deliciousness.

Image

I sipped down smoothie #1 as I prepared my next couple of drinks for work. Another thing I learned in the past two days, leave yourself lots of time for preparation! You can even prepare beforehand by bagging things together/freezing ingredients/etc. Basically anything to alleviate more work for yourself. If you are literally not doing anything for three days straight, then don’t worry about it – just make them as you go because they do taste better fresh.

At work I definitely felt more focused than the weeks before. I was able to concentrate and felt all-around good. Someone actually said to me, “So…why are you so happy today?” I blamed it on the cleanse. Although I am a very happy person in general, I exuded even more delight-fulness and my coworker even noticed!

POST-CLEANSE

Throughout the 3 days to be honest, I didn’t really feel much lighter. BUT on day 4 (yesterday) is when I woke up feeling like I did lose a bit of weight. Turns out I lost about 3 pounds.

I was so excited that I could finally eat food, but frankly by eating completely raw the past three days in smoothie form made me think before I grabbed the first thing I could bite into. It made me more conscious of what I put into my body. I had been feeding myself nutrient-rich foods that were fresh, healthy and easily digestible. So what did I do? I made myself a green tea with lemon and a damn smoothie for breakfast!!! I used a lot of the leftovers that I had – spinach, lemon, banana, raspberries, blueberries, almond butter, flax seeds, and almond milk. IT WAS SO DELICIOUS. I am now on a smoothie-for-breakfast kick and I will definitely be having at least one per day especially now that the warmer days are coming it’s perfect. I had one today with kale in it – let me tell you, the almond butter + banana + berries (of any kind) eliminates the taste of the greens in there. But they are in there all right!

SO all-in-all I think this cleanse was definitely worth it. I’d definitely consider doing it again. I am now consistently (well, its been two days) taking my supplements (multivitamin, omega-3, probiotic) and also going for tea rather than coffee. I have not gravitated towards coffee once since last Wednesday. I also really want to keep eating healthy. Everything tastes better too! That’s another perk! All I want to eat is fresh fruit and salads – they taste amazing.

OVERALL ADVICE

-Use at least 2 days before the cleanse to eat clean by cutting out sugar, alcohol & caffeine. It is a much easier transition. Trust me.

-Blend smoothies very well for better texture.

-Prepare ingredients/Leave yourself enough time to make the smoothies.

-Buy big enough To-Go containers if you have to bring them to work, school, etc. I found a couple of awesome ones at Wal-Mart! I got a big (and cute) tumbler with a straw for about $5 and a HUGE thermo (called Bubba) for approx $9. I will use them again for sure and they are definitely necessary.

-Freeze all of the fruit.

-Drink a ton of H20. My body ended up craving water nonstop. It’s important to stay very hydrated because it helps flush out the toxins more efficiently and faster. You’ll be peeing a heck of a lot but it’s a cleanse so what do you expect?

-Power through it! It’s really not that bad, like I said it’s worth it so keep your eye on the prize [feeling healthy, clear-minded, happy, lighter].

I highly recommend this detox cleanse especially as winter comes to a close. It’s time to get out the shorts and tanks so why not do this now? It’s perfect. If you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to ask. I’d also love feedback from anyone else that has tried this.

Now go get your smoothie on! Good luck 🙂

60 thoughts on “Review of Dr. Oz’s 3 Day Detox Cleanse

  1. I’m on day 2 now. Thank you for your blogging. It’s good to know others’ experiences. I had a really tough time yesterday with the lunch drink. Couldn’t finish it. Today I made it with no cucumber skin and only lime juice. I also kept out two celery stalks and half cucumber to eat separately. I enjoyed the drink today using my cheat. I am feeling tired and achy and a slight headache but not hungry. Maybe I need more water. So in all its not bad but in waiting to feel healthier.

  2. I’m on day 1 of the 3 day cleanse. I didn’t really mind the taste of any of the drinks today. I did forego the snack after the lunch smoothie, but two hours after dinner, I was hungry and had a slight headache, so I had the snack shake (breakfast one) at about 10 pm at night, knowing that I wouldn’t be able to sleep tonight if I was hungry. I also worked out today (work out regularly cardio and weights). I may have to cut back on my workouts for the next couple of days if my headache persists. I definitely did miss my coffee today (not a big fan of tea). Only 2 more days to go…hopefuly I can make it through!

  3. I’m starting the cleanse today, the green tea has me queasy already, on an empty stomach,
    I’m a little nervous about the lunch smoothie, as I made it in advance for my husband to take to work, although he is home today after all. Does it make you poop alot during the day or was your body on its “regular” schedule?

  4. Pingback: Sugar Detox and How I Managed | KandJColorado

  5. The lunch smoothie sure seemed to have a ton of ingredients. More than I would have eaten for a lunch so I had to use the food processor and then transfer to the blender. It was warm so adding frozen fruit was a great tip. It made so much smoothie that I wasn’t sure it was one serving? wow

  6. Hey there. I just started this cleanse yesterday and am on Day 2. Just have the dinner cleanse to go. I am still hungry and super bloated and puffy. I have not be able to go to the bathroom at all, nor do I feel the urge. I feel like I have put on weight. By day 3 will this start getting better? If anyone felt the same, I would love to hear from you.

  7. I am allergic to bananas, is there anything you guys would substitute.? Haven’t started the cleanse but thinking about it 🙂

  8. Wonderful items from you, man. I’ve keep in mind your stuff prior to and you are simply too wonderful. I really like what you have got right here, really like what you’re stating and the best way wherein you are saying it.
    You are making it entertaining and you still care for to keep it wise.
    I can not wait to learn far more from you. This is
    actually a great site.

  9. I’m on day 3 of this detox, and I have had such a rough time! Breakfast is good, lunch is (gag) can handle the breakfast smoothie as a snack and like the dinner. Craving solid foods bad. I have felt really rough though. This morning I got dizzy, nauseas, hands and feet were tingling and had bad hot flashes and chills. Wierd. I realized it might be because I take a diuretic. Have a feeling my electrolytes were screwed up. Feel fine now. But ready to finish this.

    • I think you should consult a doctor about taking anything especially while on an intense cleanse. That could’ve been why your body didn’t feel right. Also could’ve been dehydration, drink lots of water that’s important.

  10. I just came back from a 2 week road trip. I feel like I ate and drank my way up the west coast. I’m doing this cleanse to help get me back on track with healthy eating. I’d also be pleased if a few pounds came off too. I’m a runner and carrying around extra weight slows me down.
    Unfortunately flax seed makes my throat itch. I threw a couple of almonds in the morning smoothie.
    Here I go!

      • Wow the lunch smoothie is awful. The flavors just do not blend right (not to mention the texture). It took me hours to choke down 2/3 of it. Tomorrow I plan to eat the veggies raw and just blend the fruit and almond milk. The other 2 smoothies were good. I saw somewhere that if you don’t like the spice of the cayenne pepper, just put it in a portion of the smoothie and slam it. Then you can enjoy the rest spice free.

      • Good idea! The lunch smoothie was my biggest challenge too. Now that you know what you’re working with the next two days will be easier. First day- good job!

  11. Day one, started at 7a.m. making servings for two. Cost was around 100 bucks. Some ingredients are semi hard to find depending on where you live. We use a nutribullet which is small for the amount of processing needed. Definitely blend it first if you can then do the back and forth with your bullet. Carrot and honey are the only adjustment I made. Honey in the green tea. I stay away from artificial sweeteners , even if they say organic. Carrots tend to make everything taste better, and look better. It took over an hour to prepare two breakfast shakes, and two lunch shakes. We both had a headache and felt whoozy. I believe from my first cleansing years ago that this is the result of toxins being released.
    Will post Day two tomorrow.
    Thanks for your blog, I really dig it. JB

  12. I decided to try this red led light treatment on my post preg belly fat and they highly recommended this detox before treatment.
    First off I used flax oil in drink instead of taking omega supplement and I put almonds in breakfast drink instead of almond butter. Also my multivitamin and probiotics were in powdered form so I just added them to the drinks. The next tip made a huge difference in the drinkability of the lunch drink even if I did sacrifice some fiber: I juiced all the fruits and veggies for the lunch drink…WAY more palatable! 🙂
    These 3 days of detox were pretty easy for me except maybe in the evening when I get the munchies. I have already been losing weight on WW so I didn’t lose anything extra with this detox but that’s OK because I know it was good for me.

  13. Tomorrow will be my third day. I must say, it has been not quite what i expected. After reading the comments, i realize that i have not been drinking enough water to help with the flushing I’ve had headaches since I started which made me feel blah. I cut the celery down to two stalks and blend the h&!! out of it until it’s almost a liquid. It makes a big difference.

  14. I’ve been having stomach problems and thought this cleanse would give me a fresh start. Only problem I could not hold down the lunch smoothie. I like all the ingredients separately but blended together could not handle. Does it defeat the purpose to just eat them on their own??

    • The best way for your body to digest ks to break it down by blending but if worst comes to worst and you break it up then that’s not a problem. Adaptation is better than nothing at all 🙂

  15. I have been thinking of doing the detox…however, I’m allergic to apples, mangos and all berries. Any suggestions?? I read some where that I can boil the fruit then freeze them to use after….any ideas? thank you

  16. I have done cleanse twice. I’ve done a lot of water only fasts for up to 12 days before. This wasn’t difficult for me to do. I just found that the green drink was too high in celery so i added more pineapple. The other thing is that the grocery list doesn’t allocate for the 4th drink at all so you need to know that ahead of time. I lost 6 pounds each time I’ve done this cleanse. For me, its a less aggressive way to bet back to a healthy lifestyle. Anyway, it’s a good cleanse, costs alot though when you go organic.

  17. I have enjoyed 3 day cleanse and have done it a couple of times. What is recommended diet after cleanse? How often can you do 3 day cleanse?

    • The purpose of this cleanse is to re-start your body. The purpose could be compared to a battery. It is recharging us to get back to functioning properly. This should not have to be done more than once every six months. I say six months because it is easy to fall into and out of perfect eating habits. Essentially, we want to start eating clean after this cleanse. Nothing processed or additives because this reverses the cleanse. Oatmeal, salads, fresh fruit, roasted vegetables are examples of clean foods. The more you fall off the wagon of eating healthfully, the more this cleanse will be needed. But – the purpose is to do the cleanse as getting back on track to living a more balanced and healthy lifestyle.

  18. I fall off wagon from eating right about 1x per week . Can I do cleanse every week or two ? I have 5-8 lbs. to lose, will be 60 in April, and exercise 5-6 times per week. I really want to reach my goal weight by April. Help !

    • I’m not a doctor but I think that is too much, one per week. What you need to find is a diet plan that works better for you, rather than falling off the wagon so often. I recommend weight watchers or using the app/website that tracks your calories called My Fitness Pal. What helps me is having a smoothie everyday for breakfast. There are lit so tools out there- I recommend using them rather than cleansing 3/7 days of the week.

  19. My question is after cleansing for 3 day will u be able to eat a regular food again?
    By food mean cuz where Asian we love rice with meat!!:)
    Would that be ok or not??:)

  20. Howdy! Would you mind if I share your weblog with my twitter group? Theres lots of people that I think would truly enjoy your content material. Please let me know. Thanks bdbcdeaeefag

  21. hello, i am on day 2 of my detox and i haven’t gone #2 yet. is this normal? were you able to go #2 while on this diet? please do share. thank you berry much! 🙂

  22. My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was totally right.
    This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this information!
    Thanks!

    • I wouldn’t if they are organic. There are so many different types of cukes, but the ones with the thicker skins are meant to be peeled. I use the kind (the english kind, I believe?) that do not need to be peeled.

  23. Pingback: 100 days of detox-healthy for living tips

  24. Pingback: Dr Oz 3 Day Juice Cleanse Weight Loss Reviews | Metabolism Boosters Review

  25. Thanks for the great blog post. I’m on day 2 (doing it with the hubs), and I have followed everything to a t, except the celery. We’ve done this cleanse before and could not stand the taste/texture of the celery in the lunch drink, so this time we eliminated it completely.

    Have not had many side effects so far, but we generally eat pretty clean anyway. I do not miss my daily coffee as much as I thought I would! I guess mind over matter really works. If you tell yourself to get over it, it’s 3 days, and the benefits are better than that cup of coffee, you can curb your own cravings!

    I have been peeing about every hour, so I guess it’s working. No headaches or exhaustion.

    Some tips: do the detox bath, people! You will sleep so well…
    Also…a tip for ease of smoothie prep and efficient time management: set aside a few hours the night before, get out 9 quart size ziplock bags (easy to clean and reuse after), and label them day 1 breakfast, etc. then, prep,the ingredients as you would for the blender, except the liquid. Create your 3 breakfast, lunch and dinner bags, then put them in the freezer. Not only will this save you massive time and energy on the detox days, but the smoothies taste so much better when frozen first. You can freeze every ingredient, plus the flax seeds will have softened and be absorbed better. Trust me! The prep method helps soooo much! Good luck!

  26. I work construction and my concern with any cleanser is how often I will be going number 2 as I’m not always able to get to a restroom.

  27. On day three. I do this once a year,but this time I am peeing non stop!!! I haven’t drank a lot of water, but I am in the bathroom peeing once an hour. I feel great this is a total cleanse for me, I even stopped my meds. But stayed close to home and limiting my activities. This is definitely a good reboot!!

Leave a comment