Tao Restaurant

Tonight – Sarah and I went out for sushi and we decided on a place towards the Upper East Side. We arrived, sat down, looked at the menu and were slightly turned off. There was not a large selection of sushi, at least not much that we could understand. It was expensive. We were the only ones in the restaurant. Plus, no servers came up to us for about ten minutes.

We left.

We wandered and stumbled upon a big sign that said “TAO.” Since it sounds Asian, we decided to check it out. We looked at the menu before deciding, looked inside and we were sold. The location to be exact is 42 E 58th Street.

There are two floors and this place is HUGE. It has a vibe that I have never experienced within a restaurant. I felt like I was either in a movie or a dream. Here is the view from our seat.

I’ve never seen such a large Buddha in my life.

The pictures do not do Tao justice, but it’s better than nothing I guess. No – you should just go and see it for yourself. It’s an expensive place but the sushi and dumplings that Sarah and I had were amazing. I actually loved my sushi even though it cost way more than I would usually pay. I’d say the whole experience was totally worth it!

I kept saying, “This is so cool.”

Turns out, I’m not the only celebrity who has dined at this unique place. On Tao’s Website, the description includes, “TAO New York is frequented by celebrities on a regular basis from Nicole Kidman, Tom Cruise, Robert DeNiro, Beyonce and Jay-Z, to Britney Spears, Madonna, Paris Hilton, and members of the NY Yankees, Giants and Rangers.”

Damn.

I gotta go back when I maybe take out a new credit card? No, but seriously when I get a job and have some ca$h flow rolling in, I am coming back. I won’t tell the paparazzi though…nah – I’ll leave them out of this.

If you are in New York, craving some Asian food, looking for something different, and possibly into stalking celebrities…come to this restaurant. You will not regret it. Oh and bring me ๐Ÿ™‚

I forgot to mention that I went to the restroom and looked at the two doors in awe for a second. One was labeled “Yin” and one was labeled “Yang.” I forget which was the women’s but at the time I had to just go for one because I had no idea. I, of course, chose the men’s room first. When I saw the blue walls, I immediately shut the door. I went to the other and saw red walls and figured that was the more appropriate choice. Jeez I didn’t realize I needed to brush up on Asian culture in order to use the bathroom. Eh, it was a cool adventure at least haha.

***

Sunday Funday is almost over, let’s make this week a wonderful one!

Leave a Reply

